I’m a Korean Wannabe?

Ouch that hurts!

By any means, that is not the case. I studied Korean language simply because I’ve always wanted to study a foreign language before I turn 30 and Korean just happened to be the language I choose to study. Plus after graduated, I had nothing to do. I feel like I don’t need to justify this but, still.

Okay.

So, I took the Korean 1 class at UTM. I paid $350 for it since I am an alumni. Normal fee was $450, if I’m not mistaken. Don’t quote me. The class started in March and ended last May for a total of 12 sessions, I believe. It was on every Sunday and Tuesday from 8 – 10 p.m.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 8.48.55 AM
The “Korean wannabe” squad. Liza, me and Wahida.

One of the hardest parts has to be the numeral system. It was a big shock to me when I learned that they have 2 different number systems, the Pure Korean and the Sino-Korean. Like one is not enough right? So they need two, freakin TWO. Them Koreans are genius!

Especially when you wanna tell the time. The hours have to be in pure Korean numbers and the minutes have to be in Sino-Korean numbers and I’m not sure about the seconds.

IMG_1559
Seriously?

Overall tho, it was a fun experience and nerve-wrecking at the same time because I already know that I’m not good at language. In fact my Malay and English are questionable, lulz.

Our 선생님 (sonsengnim) or teacher in Korean  bought us 김밥 (gimbap) one day and it was delicious.

잘 먹었습니다 ( I ate well).

감사합니다, 선생님 (thank you, teacher).

At the end of class, we had an exam. Err, let’s not go there.

So what have I acquired from the class now that it’s over?

FullSizeRender-4

Oh well.

I now can read and write 한글 (hangeul) and my Korean vocabulary has expanded pretty extensively but not to the point where I’m able to understand the whole KDrama or anything. I’m still crying out for English subtitle.

I’m still working on it but don’t expect me to speak a full, complete, faultless sentence anytime soon. I’m learning at my pace and I soon will turn 30. Please understand.

But of course, I can proudly throw some random Korean words and sentences here and there. My way to annoy people, hehe.

Leave a Reply

